What Did You Think of This Week’s Comics?

Advertisement
Batman has a busy week.

It was another big week for the comic book industry, particularly on the Batman front. DC kicked off a major new storyline in Batman #55 and debuted the new Black Label imprint with Batman: Damned #1. Over at Marvel, Return of Wolverine #1 began the latest key chapter in this life of this apparently immortal hero.

Scroll down to check out our new reviews, and be sure to let us know your favorite books of the week in the comments below.

Batman #55 Review

STL093209

Written by Tom King | Drawn by Tony Daniel

“It’s become abundantly clear that we’ve arrived at the stage of Tom King’s Batman run where things will just keep getting worse for the Dark Knight month after month. We’ve already seen his fleeting chance at happiness with Catwoman crumble into dust and Batman almost condemn Mister Freeze to a wrongful death. You might think Nightwing’s lingering presence in the series would bring a dose of light into Batman’s murky world, but that’s clearly not the case as King and Tony Daniel begin their next collaboration.” -Jesse

Click here to read the entire review!

Final Score:

Batman: Damned – Book One Review

STL092901

Written by Brian Azzarello | Drawn by Lee Bermejo

“DC has been going all-in when it comes to creating new comic book imprints to cater to readers of different tastes. DC Black Label may be the most enticing of these new imprints yet. The goal with Black Label is nothing less than to create a new wave of books in the vein of The Killing Joke and The Dark Knight Returns – adult-oriented, continuity-free stories that feature bold takes on familiar heroes. That’s a high standard to meet, however, and it should come as no surprise that Batman: Damned doesn’t immediately establish itself as the next Killing Joke.” -Jesse

Click here to read the entire review!

Final Score:

Exit Theatre Mode

Return of Wolverine #1 Review

STL093327

Written by Charles Soule | Drawn by Steve McNiven

“It’s been almost exactly four years since Marvel published Death of Wolverine and took the most popular X-Man there is off the board. Death of Wolverine itself was a solid sendoff to the character, one marked by terrific art, a novel approach to depicting Wolverine’s senses and a poignant final scene. However, nothing that has followed has managed to live up to that standard. Neither the various Death of Wolverine tie-in books nor the weekly Wolverines series have done much but dilute the impact of that initial story. As for the recent Hunt for Wolverine crossover, that turned out to be a whole lot of fuss for very little payoff. The best that can be said for the entire Death and Resurrection of Wolverine meta-event is that it gave Laura Kinney and Old Man Logan a chance to shine in the absence of the original Wolverine.” -Jesse

Click here to read the entire review!

Final Score:

Jesse is a mild-mannered writer for IGN. Allow him to lend a machete to your intellectual thicket by following @jschedeen on Twitter, or Kicksplode on MyIGN.

SOURCE: IGN.com

Leave a Reply